Strahan, Parcells Finalists for Hall of Fame

The two former Giants are among 15 Hall of Fame finalists this year.

Print Email

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013 finalists were announced on Friday, and two former Giants – Michael Strahan and Bill Parcells – were among the 15 names. Here is a list of all finalists:

Larry Allen Guard/Tackle
Jerome Bettis Running Back
Tim Brown Wide Receiver
Cris Carter Wide Receiver
Kevin Greene Linebacker/Defensive End
Charles Haley Linebacker/Defensive End
Jonathan Ogden Tackle
Andre Reed Wide Receiver
Warren Sapp Defensive Tackle
Will Shields Guard
Michael Strahan Defensive End
Aeneas Williams Cornerback/Safety

Coaches and Contributors:
Bill Parcells, Coach of the New York Giants, New York Jets, Dallas Cowboys and New England Patriots
Art Modell, Owner of the Cleveland Browns and Baltimore Ravens
Edward J. Debartolo, Jr., Owner of the San Francisco 49ers

Defensive tackle Curly Culp and linebacker Dave Robinson are also finalists. They were announced as finalists in August as part of the senior generation of nominees.

Four of the 15 finalists - Larry Allen, Jonathan Ogden, Warren Sapp, and Michael Strahan – are eligible for the first time this year. Players and coaches must be retired for at least five consecutive seasons in order to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Contributors do not need to be retired in order to be eligible.

On Saturday, February 2, the Hall of Fame Selection committee will convene in New Orleans to determine which players will receive the greatest honor bestowed to a former NFL player: induction into the Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame Class of 2013 will be announced at 5:30 on that day, which is the day before Super Bowl XLVII in New Orleans.

Ground rules stipulate that only five modern age finalists can be inducted each year, along with up to two senior generation finalists.

Strahan recorded 141.5 sacks during a 15 year career with the Giants. Parcells totaled two Super Bowl victories and three conference championships during his career. The selection committee’s failure to induct Parcells to the Hall of Fame last year was met with an outcry from fans. On February 2 we will find out if the two Giants will make the cut for the Class of 2013.