William Floyd Alumni Association Honors 2016 Class of Outstanding Educators


The William Floyd Alumni Association recently held its seventh annual Outstanding Educators Award Dinner.

Print Email

(L to R): Jackie Eglevski, WFAA President; 2016 Outstanding Educators Award honorees Dori Orofino, Dick Horton, Joe Hurley, Patti Casey and Denise Robertson; Sandra Pagano, Chairperson, Outstanding Educators Awards Committee; and Kevin M. Coster, Superintendent of Schools, William Floyd School District. Class of 2016 Outstanding Educator honorees with some of the previous year’s recipients.

Photo by: William Floyd Alumni Association.

Manorville, NY - October 27, 2016 - The William Floyd Alumni Association recently held its seventh annual Outstanding Educators Award Dinner honoring Patricia Casey, Richard Horton, Joseph Hurley, Dori Orofino and Denise Robertson, five current and former William Floyd educators who together have made a positive difference in the lives of thousands of students. The honorees were nominated for this award by former students.

“Patti Casey, Dick Horton, Joe Hurley, Dori Orofino and Denise Robertson are five exemplary educators who provided their students with knowledge, guidance, encouragement and inspiration,” said Jackie (Intonato) Eglevsky, William Floyd High School Class of 1964, President, William Floyd Alumni Association.  “As teachers, they valued their students’ individuality and creativity and gave them the gift of experiencing the joy of being lifelong learners.”

William Floyd Superintendent of Schools Kevin M. Coster agreed, “It is my honor to congratulate this year’s five honorees – Patti, Dick, Joe, Dori and Denise – on their enshrinement into what is essentially the Educator Hall of Fame. What makes this award even more special is that the honorees are nominated by former students, which is a testament to their greatness and lasting impact as educators.”

The 2016 Class of William Floyd Alumni Association Outstanding Educators join 24 past recipients: Mary Arslanian, Jude Bouer, Candy Carro, Michael Cordaro, Beth Cutrone, Chip Ezelius, Robert Feeney, Donna Gaspari, Ron Gross, Bill Hennessy, Paul Longo, Mike Merolla, Flora Metrick, Laura Mole, Bill Pike, Ed Pinto, Karen Poidomani, John Raptis, E. Marianne Ritz, Phil Scotto, Marge Sabbeth, Mary Schultz, Phyllis Siano and Stephen Stengel.

Proceeds from the Outstanding Educators Awards event helps to fund many William Floyd Alumni Association initiatives such as scholarships and programming supplies for students, community clean-ups, kindergarten student welcome gifts, food drives, the holiday adopt-a-family program and more