Newly Elected & Re-Elected LI Water Commissioners Congratulated & Welcomed By Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association

Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association welcomes back to its Association recently newly elected and re-elected Long Island water commissioners.

Print Email

Pictured are some of the newly and re-elected commissioners: Glenn Barnett, Andrew Bader, Karl Schweitzer, David Brackett, Howard Abbondondelo, James Logan, Louis Savinetti, Joseph Tricarico, Michael Kosinski, and Vincent Abbatiello.

Melville, NY - December 22, 2015 - Long Island voters have elected or re-elected water commissioners in 21 commissioner-run water districts within Nassau and Suffolk Counties.  Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association (NSWCA), which consists of water commissioners representing 21 Long Island water districts, congratulates and welcomes to its Association newly elected and re-elected Long Island water commissioners, each of whom will serve a three-year term beginning January 1, 2016, which runs through December 31, 2018. Water district elections are held annually and residents vote for one of three district commissioners in each district.

Newly elected and re-elected commissioners welcomed or welcomed back to NSWCA are: re-elected Albertson Water District Commissioner Howard Abbondondelo, newly elected Bethpage Water District Commissioner John Coumatos, re-elected Carle Place Water District Commissioners Peter W. Meade, re-elected Cathedral Gardens Water District Commissioner Glenn Barnett, newly elected Franklin Square Water District Commissioner Madeline Presta, re-elected Garden City Park Water District Commissioner Chris Engel, re-elected Glenwood Water District Commissioner Bernard McCabe, re-elected Greenlawn Water District Commissioner James M. Logan, re-elected Water District Commissioner Karl M. Schweitzer, re-elected Jericho Water District Commissioner Thomas A. Abbate, re-elected Locust Valley Water District Commissioner Louis P. Savinetti, re-elected Manhasset-Lakeville Water District Commissioner Brian J. Morris, re-elected Massapequa Water District Commissioner Joseph T. Tricarico, re-elected Oyster Bay Water District Commissioner Richard Niznik, re-elected Plainview Water District Commissioner Andrew N. Bader, re-elected Port Washington Water District Commissioner David Brackett, re-elected Roslyn Water District Commissioner Michael Kosinski, re-elected South Farmingdale Water District Commissioner John Hirt, re-elected South Huntington Water District Commissioner Dominick Feeney, and re-elected Westbury Water District Commissioner Vincent Abbatiello.

“We are pleased to welcome our new and returning colleagues to the NSWCA,” NSWCA President Thomas P. Hand stated. “Commissioner-run water districts enable residents and consumers to express their opinions and preferences through the voting process. One commissioner from each district is elected to represent the people.  This puts emphasis on a hyper-local basis in each community. In such hyper-local elections, every resident’s vote truly counts.” 

Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association (NSWCA) is comprised of water commissioners from 21 Nassau County and Suffolk County water districts.  NSWCA is dedicated to communication, efficiency and best practices among Long Island’s water districts.  As part of its mission, the association holds monthly educational meetings sponsoring experts on topics that include law, cost efficiencies, rules and regulations and issues germane to water utilities. 

For further information, please contact Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association President Mr. Thomas P. Hand via phone, 516-798-5269, or email