DEER TICK’s Ian O’Neil & Director William Miller Announce Surprise Appearance on Tom Needham’s The Sounds of Film

DEER TICK’s guitarist Ian O’Neil and filmmaker William Miller are Tom Needham’s guests for a special prime time edition of ‘The Sounds of Film.’

Print Email

Straight Into A Storm’s DEER TICK.

Photo by: The Sounds of Film

Stony Brook, NY - June 14, 2018 - Tune into Tom Needham’s ‘The Sounds of Film’ for a prime time special based on the new documentary, STRAIGHT INTO A STORM. The film is about one of America’s greatest cult rock bands of our time, DEER TICK. Joining Tom on WUSB’s ‘The Sounds of Film’ at 8 PM are DEER TICK’s guitarist, Ian O’Neil, and filmmaker William Miller.
STRAIGHT INTO A STORM is being released in theaters on June 15th. The movie focuses on the band’s 2014/15 10th anniversary run in New York City. It is a portrait of a hard rock band known for their live performances who evolved into one the music industry’s most creative and unpredictable bands. The film starts off with a New Year’s Eve Performance featuring a fan chosen playlist, and, then, looks back at the last 10 years using never before seen archival footage. The radio show will also feature a generous amount of DEER TICK’s acclaimed rock, folk, blues and country inspired music.
This special prime time edition of ‘The Sounds of Film’ featuring DEER TICK’s Ian O’Neil and STRAIGHT INTO A STORM director, William Miller, will air immediately after the regularly scheduled 6 PM edition of ‘ The Sounds of Film,’ featuring Connie Stevens, Tab Hunter, and director Jeffrey Schwarz. 
About the Sounds of Film
‘The Sounds of Film’ is the nation’s longest running film and music themed radio show. For the past 30 years, the program has delivered a popular mix of interviews and music to listeners all over Long Island, parts of Connecticut and streaming live worldwide on the internet. Previous guests include DA Pennebaker, Chuck D., Laurie Anderson, Thom Zimny, Don McClean, Nile Rodgers, Cliff Martinez, William H. Macy, Peter Fonda, Pam Grier, Garland Jeffreys and Stephen Dorff.