Long Island Water Commissioners Welcomed by Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association


Re-elected and newly elected Commissioners to serve three-year terms from January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2023.

Print Email


Voters in both Nassau and Suffolk Counties have spoken at the polls, recently electing or re-electing water commissioners in 21 Long Island commissioner-run water districts. The Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association (NSWCA), http://www.nswcawater.org consists of water commissioners who are collectively responsible for providing potable drinking water to more than 620,000 consumers. 
NSWCA President and Hicksville Water District Commissioner William Schuckmann commented, “Our members are unique in the water industry in that every Commissioner is elected by voters within each respective water district. This ensures that the majority views and opinions of the residents in each community are respected. Every vote counts and every vote is counted. Given the impact of economics and environmental issues like water quality and conservation, this is more important today than ever before. I’m pleased to welcome all our new commissioners and returning colleagues in both Nassau County and Suffolk County as NSWCA members.”
The NSWCA congratulates the following water commissioners on their election:
  • Richard Ockovic, Albertson Water District - Re-elected                           
  • Scott Greco, Bethpage Water District - New-elect
  • Kenneth Gass, Jr., Carle Place Water District - New-elect
  • Ray Rockensies, Cathedral Gardens Water District - Re-elected             
  • Salvatore A. Intagliata, Franklin Square Water District - Re-elected             
  • Peter Chimenti, Garden City Park Water - Re-elected                           
  • Kenneth S. Uihlein, Glenwood Water District - Re-elected                           
  • John H. Clark, Greenlawn Water District - Re-elected                           
  • William Schuckmann, Hicksville Water District - Re-elected 
  • Patricia A. Beckerle, Jericho Water District - Re-elected                           
  • Patricia Peterson, Locust Valley Water District - Re-elected                           
  • Mark S. Sauvigne, Manhasset-Lakeville Water District - Re-elected               
  • Thomas McCarthy, Massapequa Water District - Re-elected                         
  • Robert J. McEvoy, Oyster Bay Water District - Re-elected                           
  • Marc Laykind, Plainview Water District - Re-elected                           
  • Peter Meyer, Port Washington Water District - Re-elected                           
  • William Costigan, Roslyn Water District - Re-elected                           
  • Ralph Atoria, South Farmingdale Water District - Re-elected                         
  • Ciro DePalo, South Huntington Water District - Re-elected                       
  • Kenneth P. Wenthen, Jr., West Hempstead Water District - Re-elected         
  • William C. Olson, Westbury Water District - Re-elected             
About Nassau-Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association
The NSWCA is comprised of Water Commissioners from 21 Nassau and Suffolk County water districts. The NSWCA is dedicated to communication, efficiency and best practices among Long Island’s water districts. As part of its mission, the Association holds monthly educational meetings sponsoring experts on topics including sustainability, compliance, cost efficiencies, regulations, and other issues germane to water utilities.