You're Invited to Attend Long Island's Biggest Media Event: The Fair Media Council's Folio Awards on March 21

Lunch with New York Times' White House Correspondent Maggie Haberman. Dedicated to John Kominicki & Cohosted by Lea Tyrrell & Drew Scott.

Print Email

Longtime News12 anchors Lea Tyrrell & Drew Scott cohost the 2018 Fair Media Council Folio Awards.

Photo by: Fair Media Council

Long Island, NY - March 14, 2018 - If you care about Long Island, democracy or the state of journalism, attend the Fair Media Council's Folio Awards Luncheon on March 21, 11 a.m. - 2 p.m. at the Garden City Hotel. It's Long Island's biggest media event, celebrating quality news as chosen by the ultimate critic: The public.
The event features a conversation with The New York Times' White House Correspondent and CNN Political Analyst Maggie Haberman, who is widely considered one of the best political journalists on the scene today. With Fair Media Council CEO & Executive Director Jaci Clement, Haberman will chat about what's happening inside the White House, journalism today and how to survive those inevitable Tweetstorms.
The luncheon is dedicated to Long Island Business News Publisher and Innovate Long Island Founder John Kominicki, and features tributes by Hofstra University President Stuart Rabinowitz, Advanced Energy Research and Technology Center (AERTC) at New York State University at Stony Brook Chairman Robert B. Catell and Gold Coast Bank Chairman and CEO John C. Tsunis, Esq.
NBC New York's Stacey Bell & Adam Kuperstein, PIX11's Tamsen Fadal & Dan Mannarino and WCBS Newsradio 880's Craig Allen & Marla Diamond will present awards to the best in news & social media, as chosen by the ultimate critic: The public.
"The Folio Awards program enables the public to provide high-profile feedback to news outlets on what they want to see, hear and read in their news," said Clement. "The program and feedback keeps the media engaged in the community, while the judging process gives community leaders an opportunity to learn how to critique news stories, actively question the information being presented and understand the important role news plays in maintaining quality-of-life standards and vibrant communities."
This year's winning news outlets include CBS New York, NBC New York, WCBS Newsradio 880, 1010 WINS, WSHU, PIX11, WLNY TV10/55, MYLITV, The Pioneer, Long Island Business News, FiOS1 News, RNN, David North Media and WLIW. Earning the title of best in social media for 2018 is Allstate Insurance Company, Wordhamption and WLIW.
The Folio Awards is sponsored by Bethpage Federal Credit Union, Northwell Health, Mazars USA, Todd Shapiro Associates, PIX11, Protiviti, NBC New York, Long Island University, South Nassau Communities Hospital, Hofstra University, WCBS/WLNY, Castagna Realty Co., Allstate and Robert Catell, AERTC.
The media sponsor is Long Island Business News. Official Transportation Provider is Ultimate Class Limousine. The Official Photographer is Bob Giglione.
The distinguished community and business leaders who were appointed Folio judges for the 2018 awards program are: Raymond Caliendo, Art-of-Form Architectural Services; Michael Canders, Farmingdale State College; Rita Castagna, Americana Manhasset; Robert Catell, AERTC, Stony Brook University; Evan Cornog, Hofstra University; Carl Corry, Suffolk County Community College; Kevin Dahill, Nassau-Suffolk Hospital Council; Mike Dawidziak, Strategic Planning Systems, Inc.; Jessica McAleer Decatur, St. Joseph's College; John Durso, Long Island Federation of Labor; Sal Ferro, Alure Home Improvements; Jody Fisher, Austin & Williams; Paul Focazio, New York Sea Grant; Mark Head, South Nassau Communities Hospital; Robert Horvath, Sauvigne & Co.; Bob Keeler, Newsday (retired); James Kinney, Mazars USA; Bruce Lambert, The New York Times (retired); Krupa Lauricella, The Nature's Bounty Co.; Larry Levy, Hofstra University; Jorge Martinez, Long Island Sustainable Business Council; David Okorn, Long Island Community Foundation; Jeffrey Reynolds, Family & Children's Association; Charles Skop, Esq., Meyer Suozzi English & Klein; David Smukler, NYRA (retired); Glenn Stalter, Stalter Consulting; Richard Turan, Turan Family Foundation and Christopher Wright, Protiviti.
Tickets and tables are still available, as well as online journal ads. More information may be found on the homepage of, emailing or by calling 516-224-1860, ext. 1.