How to Get a Marriage License on Long Island

 Home » Weddings » How to Get Your Marriage License

 
 
Congratulations! You have found the person you want to spend the rest of your life with! I am sure in the frenzy of planning a wedding (with help from LongIsland.com’s Wedding Page) that the last thing you want to worry about should be how to make it legally official. So, here is your judge to getting a marriage license on Long Island.
 
What is a marriage license and how is it different from a marriage certificate?
A marriage license is a license that allows you to get married in New York State. 
 
Your marriage ceremony must take place in New York State by a mayor, former mayor, former city clerk, a marriage officer appointed by the town, justice or a judge of a court, town justice, county justice, a member of the clergy or minister who has been officially ordained, a member of the clergy or minister who is not authorised by a governing church body but have been chosen by a spiritual group to preside over their spiritual affairs, and other officiants as specified by Section 11 of Domestic Law.The officiant does not have to be a resident of New York State. Ship captains are not authorized to perform marriage ceremonies in New York State. A witness for each party must be present at the ceremony; this is necessary so the person can stand witness in a court of law to affirm that a marriage ceremony took place.
 
A marriage certificate certifies that a couple has been married by a party in the previous paragraph. This is usually submitted by the person who preforms the ceremony.
 
Age Requirements:
To get married in New York State, you must be over the age of 14. To get married at 14 or 15, you must have parent permission as well as written consent from a justice of the Supreme Court or a judge of Family Court with jurisdiction in your town in which the application is made. If you are 16 or 17, you would just need parents to sign consent when filing for the marriage license. 
 
How Much is a License?
The cost for a license is $40. Depending of your township, you might be able to pay by credit card, but some townships only accept cash or check. Check with your township before venturing out.
 
What to Bring When Applying for a License:
Aside from you and your significant other being present at your Town Clerk’s office, you need two documents per person:
 
One of the following:
  • Birth Certificate
  • Baptismal record
  • Naturalization record
  • Census record
and
 
One of the following:
  • Driver's license
  • Passport
  • Employment picture ID
  • Immigration record
New York State has provided a pamphlet with information about getting married in New York.
 
Is There a Waiting Period?
Yes. Although you will be issued a marriage license at the clerk’s office, your ceremony can only take place 24 hours after it is issued. You will then have 60 calendar days to get married. After, the license is no longer valid.
 
Ok, So Where Do You Go for a Marriage License?
Those who want to get married in New York State have to apply in person at any town or city clerk in the state, generally the one you or your significant other live in.
 
Before venturing out please review your town’s requirements. Some towns require multiple forms of identification.
 
Town Offices on Long Island to Get Your Marriage Licenses at:
 
Town Clerk Registrar's Office
200 Plandome Road
Manhasset, NY 11030
Monday to Friday 9:00 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.
516-869-7659
 
One Washington Street, 1st Floor
Hempstead, NY 11550
Monday to Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:45 p.m.
(516) 489-5000, ext. 3046
 
Town Hall East
54 Audrey Avenue
Oyster Bay, New York 11771
or
Town Hall South
977 Hicksville Road
Massapequa, NY 11758
Both location times: Monday to Friday 9:00 a.m. to 4:45 p.m.
516-624-6335
 
Town Hall 
100 Main Street
Huntington, NY 11743
Monday- Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Friday 8:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (by appointment only Friday evenings)
631-351-3206
 
200 East Sunrise Highway
Lindenhurst, NY
Monday-Friday 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
631-957-4291
 
99 West Main Street
P.O. Box 646
Smithtown, NY 11787
Monday to Friday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (July-August closed at 4 p.m.)
 
655 Main St
Islip, New York 11751
631-224-5490
Monday to Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Tuesday extended hours to 8:00 p.m.)
After 4:30 p.m. needs appointments.
 
One Independence Hill
Farmingville, NY 11738
Monday: 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday through Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
631-451-9101
 
200 Howell Avenue
Riverhead, NY 11901
Monday to Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
631-727-3200
 
53095 Route 25 
P.O. Box 1179 
Southold, NY 11971 
Monday to Friday 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
631-765-1800
 
Town of Shelter Island
38 North Ferry Road
P.O. Box 1549
Shelter Island, NY 11964
631-749-1166
 
Hampton Bays Annex 
25 Ponquogue Ave 
Hampton Bays, NY 
Tuesday and Thursday 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
631-723 - 2712
 
159 Pantigo Road
East Hampton, New York
Monday to Friday 9:00 a.m. and 3:30 p.m.
631-324-4142

Additional Resources:
 
Source: NYS DOH.