A little known gem sitting back from the road on Montauk Highway in Center Moriches, the Haven's House was the home of one of the first families of Suffolk County. The house was moved from its' original setting on the south side of Montauk Highway to the north side in 197`. It is a charming structure of two attached buildings. A large three-story house, circa 1890, with lovely windows and high ceiling rooms and a small two-story house, circa 1750. The original accordion lath and hand-hewn beams can still be seen, as well as the original roofing in the older section. The larger house has been devoted to a number of exhibitions relating to Moriches Bay and Long Island history, from exquisite "salts,' china and crystal, through instruments used in the fishing industry. There's a terrific duck boat stored away in the basement that might make its way to an area for viewing. The Society has begun some re-arranging of exhibits and has many interesting ideas for future displays. I was very intrigued with the Clothing Room, which displays some fabulous dresses and accessories from the 1800s. There is lovely costume jewelry and hand-sewn baby clothes - and lots of beautiful baby shoes. The two historic houses contain many well-preserved articles of historic interest and there is a large collection of books, which are available for research. The local DAR chapter has loaned materials, mementos, and memorabilia - on display in the DAR Room. Here also is a fine costume display from the 1800s, as well as some musical instruments (along with a diorama of local birds). Throughout the building are early photos and maps of interest, some WWI and WWII memorabilia (including General Pershing's military jacket), and some Civil War artifacts. The house is open by appointment, and there is a handout, which describes the history and the various theme rooms. In addition, the Society runs a Thrift Shop, open every Saturday and an Old Fashioned Country Auction in September (sorry - we just missed it). For information or to make an appointment, call the Society at 631-878-1776. The Society is beginning an effort to be more available to the public. The buildings and contents are very interesting and you can spend a lot of time discovering all the little surprises on display throughout the property.