Weather Alert  

COASTAL FLOOD STATEMENT NOW IN EFFECT FROM 4 PM EDT THIS AFTERNOON THROUGH THIS EVENING * WHAT...Up to one half foot of inundation above ground level expected in vulnerable areas near the waterfront and shoreline. * WHERE...Northwest Suffolk and Northeast Suffolk Counties. * WHEN...From 4 PM EDT this afternoon through this evening. * IMPACTS...Brief minor flooding of the more vulnerable locations near the waterfront and shoreline.

Voters in Nassau and Suffolk Counties Elect 22 Water Commissioners

Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association (NSWCA) welcomes new and re-elected members.

Print Email

Water commissioners elected by voters in 21 Long Island water districts.

Photo by: NSWCA

As a result of local elections, water commissioners have been elected by voters in 21 Long Island water districts. All elected commissioners will begin their three-year terms effective January 1, 2020. Long Island water commissioners who have been newly elected or re-elected by Long Island voters, are being welcomed as members of the Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association (NSWCA).
NSWCA President and Oyster Bay Water District Commissioner Michael F. Rich III commented on the election results. “Once again, voters used the opportunity to cast their ballots for the men or women of their choice in meaningful local elections,” he said. “Since commissioners are elected, not appointed, and must reside in their respective districts, this is an excellent example of local control by each community at work. I am extremely pleased to welcome both our new and returning colleagues to NSWCA.”
The NSWCA congratulates and welcomes the following newly elected and re-elected commissioners:
  • Albertson Water District Commissioner Kenneth Vey
  • Bethpage Water District Commissioner Theresa M. Catapano-Black
  • Carle Place Water District Commissioner Tim Stellato
  • Cathedral Gardens Water District Commissioner Joseph Corino
  • Franklin Square Water District Commissioner Ralph Pugliese
  • Garden City Park Water District Commissioner Ken Borchers
  • Glenwood Water District Commissioner Peter A. Hesse
  • Greenlawn Water District Commissioner John McLaughlin
  • Hicksville Water District Commissioner Nicholas Brigandi
  • Jericho Water District Commissioner James Asmus
  • Locust Valley Water District Commissioner Peter Brown
  • Massapequa Water District Commissioner Raymond J. Averna
  • Massapequa Water District Commissioner Michael E. Mazzola
  • Manhasset-Lakeville Water District Commissioner Steven Flynn
  • Oyster Bay Water District Commissioner Michael F. Rich III
  • Plainview Water District Commissioner Amanda Field
  • Port Washington Water District Commissioner Mindy Germain
  • Roslyn Water District Commissioner Dr. Sanford Klein
  • South Farmingdale Water District Commissioner Gary Brosnan
  • South Huntington Water District Commissioner Paul Tonna
  • West Hempstead Water District Commissioner C. John Sparacio
  • Westbury Water District Commissioner Barry Green
Comprised of elected water commissioners from 21 Nassau County and Suffolk County water districts, the NSWCA is dedicated to providing its commissioners with ongoing education that promote different updates and approaches to communication, fiscal efficiency and best practices for the production, conservation and sustainability of our region’s water resources on behalf of the consumers they are elected to support. 
About Nassau-Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association (NSWCA)
The NSWCA is comprised of Water Commissioners’ from 21 voter-elected Nassau County and Suffolk County water districts. NSWCA is dedicated to communication, efficiency and best practices among Long Island’s water districts.  As part of its mission, the Association holds monthly educational meetings sponsoring experts on topics that include compliance, law, cost efficiencies, rules and regulations, aquifer health and issues germane to water utilities.