Bellone Announces Results for Catholic Health Services 4th Annual Suffolk County Marathon

The 2018 Marathon was dedicated to the Air National Guard’s 106th Rescue Wing and served to raise funds for local veterans’ groups.

Print Email
Suffolk County, NY - October 30, 2018 - Suffolk County Executive Steve Bellone today announced the results of the fourth annual Catholic Health Services Suffolk County Marathon, Half-Marathon, Relay, 5K races and the celebration of Freedom Fest in downtown Patchogue. The 2018 Marathon was dedicated to the Air National Guard’s 106th Rescue Wing and served to raise funds for local veterans’ groups.
“At a time when there seems to be so much turmoil and chaos happening on our television screens, the Suffolk County Marathon reminds us of the good that exists in the world,” said Suffolk County Executive Steve Bellone. “To everyone who came out yesterday to cross the finish line, you have sent a powerful message of solidarity. I thank everyone who participated in this race and, in doing so, showing our appreciation for our heroes who answered the call to serve.”
In March, seven members of the 106th Rescue Wing of the New York Air National Guard in Westhampton Beach died when a U.S. helicopter crashed in Iraq; four of whom were from Long Island. In honor of the service members that were lost, Suffolk County dedicated this year’s race was dedicated to the brave members of the Air National Guard’s 106th Rescue Wing. Each leg of the Relay Race was dedicated to a specific member of one of the four Long Island members of the 106th that were killed in action, including Major Andreas O’Keeffe, Master Sergeant Christopher Raguso, Technical Sergeant Dashan Briggs, and Major Christopher Zanetis.
This year’s race also featured a County Executive’s Cup, a new trophy eligible only to active duty military personnel who participate in the full Marathon. We will announce the results for the Military Branch that finished with the top score overall soon. The cup will have their division name engraved into it. The winners will now take the trophy back to their base until next year’s race. The trophy was generously donated by the Ronayne Family.
The results of the 2018 races are as follows:
Male winners:
  • First place: Boyd Carrington - Time: 2:41:47.3
  • Second place: Fabian Daza - Time: 02:42:48.2
  • Third Place: Michael Arnstein - Time: 02:43:02.1
Female winners:
  • First place: Maggie Tursi - Time: 03:13:06.8
  • Second place: Kate Mullen-Most – Time: 03:17:59.9
  • Third place: Leiba Rimler – Time: 03:19:38.4
  • First place: Team S.O.S. Sistas of Speed – Time: 03:13:19.9
  • Second Place: Team Webb Institute – Time: 03:19:13.5
  • Third place: Team 106 Rescue Wing HQ – Time: 03:27:42.1
  • Jonathan Toro – Time: 01:17:43.0
  • Marc Taboga – Time: 01:17:53.8
  • Tim Steiskal – Time: 01:18:21.6
  • Laura Cummings – Time: 01:19:03.3
  • Tara Wilson – Time: 01:24:35.5
  • Kim Larson – Time: 01:26:48.4
  • Joshua Jastemski – Time: 00:17:51.5
  • Evgeny Amelchenko – Time: 00:18:23.6
  • Miguel Morastitla - Time: 00:19:07.3
  • Tara Farrell – Time: 00:19:33.0
  • Alanna Hollborn – Time: 00:20:03.0
  • Jessica Bonati – Time: 00:22:17.5
  • Male: Mark Braun – Time: 00:15:40.8
  • Female: Lily Steinagle – Time: 00:28:55.3