Ward Melville High School Had Nine Lives During Ninth State Title Victory

Written by Long Island News & PR  |  02. August 2017

Hauppauge, NY – August 2nd, 2017 – Suffolk County Legislator Kara Hahn this week honored the Ward Melville High School Patriots Boys Lacrosse team for its incredible 2017 season. The Patriots, led by Coach Jay Negus, finished its season by winning its ninth state title during the Class A Lacrosse Championship against Pittsford High School last month. 
The Championship game held on Saturday, June 10, 2017 at St. John Fisher College, came down to the wire with the Patriots trailing 9 to 4 and only 4 minutes of play left.  While the team was behind it was not out as it pulled together and made every remaining second count,  scoring four straight goals in the final minute of the game. The game tying point was scored with only 7.4 seconds left on the clock.
In overtime, the teams remained scoreless until the final second of the game, when Patriot Matt Grillo shot the game winning goal into Pittsford’s net giving Ward Melville High School its ninth straight state title. 
Congratulations go to: Brandon Aviles, Trey Berry, Aidan Brazier, Brandon Cajigas, Perry Cassidy, Cole Chamberlain, Frank Ciniglio, Matthew Cirrone, Dominick Cosentino, Connor Cunningham, Liam Davenport, Lucas Flynn, Andrew Fogarty, Michael Giaquinto, Max Gironda, Matthew Grillo, Zach Hobbes, Noah Kepes, Colin Kreig, Dylan Kreig, Joe La Rosa, Kevin Leonard, Andrew Lockhart, Conor Long, Sean Mattson, Alex Mazzone, Malachy McAvoy, Conor McGinley, Andrew McKenna, Ryan Mc Mullen, Ryan Mc Namara, Connor Monahan, Eddie Munoz, Pat O'Neill, Christian O'Toole, Dylan Palonetti, Ryan Palonetti, Matthew Patraco, Ryan Patraco, Glen Pinkava, Dominic Pryor, Jack Purdy, Charndler Russell, Walter Saraceni, Jack Spinks, Connor Toomey, Nicholas Troy, Brandon White, Cameron Williams and Matt Wang for another thrilling season.

Copyright © 1996-2021 LongIsland.com & Long Island Media, Inc. All rights reserved.