Mangano: LIRR Commuter Council Office To Open In Nassau County

Written by Long Island News & PR  |  08. June 2015

Mineola, NY - June 5, 2015 - Nassau County Executive Edward P. Mangano and members of the Long Island Rail Road (LIRR) Commuter Council - which serves as the voice of all LIRR riders - today announced the grand opening of their first Long Island office, located in the Ralph G. Caso Executive and Legislative Building in Mineola.

“The Long Island Rail Road Commuter Council’s new office will provide a great resource for commuters,” said County Executive Mangano. “My administration looks forward to working with the Commuter Council to help enhance the rider experience for residents utilizing the Long Island Rail Road.”

“The Long Island Rail Road Commuter Council extends its thanks to Nassau County Executive Edward Mangano and the County of Nassau for providing the LIRRCC space for our first office on Long Island, stated Mark Epstein, Chair Long Island Rail Road Commuter Council. “The LIRRCC looks forward to working with all elected officials and forging even closer relationships with other advocacy groups on Long Island to give a strong voice in behalf of all LIRR riders."

The LIRR Commuter Council was formed in 1981 by the State Legislature, and was designed to improve communications between the LIRR and its customers as well as to strengthen operational efficiencies to create a more pleasant passenger experience. The legislation, which created the LIRR Commuter Council established the organization as the official representative of riders and originally only included representation of riders from Nassau and Suffolk Counties, but in 1999 the Council expanded to include New York City riders as well. The council is made up of volunteer members who are appointed by the Governor upon the recommendation of the Nassau and Suffolk County Executives as well as the Brooklyn and Queens Borough Presidents.

The new LIRR Commuter Council office is fully operational and functions on an as needed basis for commuters who have concerns regarding their rider experience. For more information or to contact the LIRRCC please call (516) 571- 5780 or email.

Pictured: Nassau County Executive Edward P. Mangano cuts the ribbon with TOH Supervisor, Kate Murray, NC Legislator, Rose Marie Walker, NC Legislator, Ellen Birnbaum, NYS Assemblyman, Dave McDonough, NYS Senator, Michael Venditto, NYS Assemblyman, Joseph Saladino, NYS Assemblyman, Ed Ra, SC Legislator, Monica Martinez, LIRR President, Patrick Nowakowski, Mark J. Epstein, Chair of LIRRCC, , Larry Rubinstein, Vice Chair, Mike Godino,, LIRRCC Council member, Sheila Carpenter, Social Worker and Suffolk Rep of LIRRCC, Raymond Pagano, Council Member, Bryan Peranzo, NC Representative Council Member and William Henderson, Permanent Citizens Advisory Committee to the MTA.


Copyright © 1996-2021 LongIsland.com & Long Island Media, Inc. All rights reserved.