34th Annual William Floyd Music Faculty Concert a Huge Success

Written by Long Island News & PR  |  20. March 2018

Moriches, NY - March 20, 2018 - To help kick off the “Music in Our Schools” festivities for the month of March, the William Floyd Music Department hosted the 34th annual music faculty scholarship concert on Friday, March 5, before a sold-out audience at William Floyd Middle School. This year’s event, highlighting the talent of the William Floyd music faculty, raised nearly $3,100 in scholarships for graduating seniors pursuing music education in college. Over the years, this event has provided hundreds of deserving students with scholarships to help them achieve their educational goals.
“The faculty concert was a huge success!” said George Ober, chairperson, William Floyd Music Department. “This year’s was definitely one on the best – a sold out concert raising a record amount of scholarships for seniors who will continue their education in music. Congratulations and thank you to the music faculty who participated in the event. They shared their time and talent for this great annual event.”
The event also featured multiple raffles including a brand new guitar. Along with a chance to win some great prizes, several students got up to dance to various hits including “Come on Eileen” by Dexy’s Midnight Runners, “Sweet Caroline” by Neil Diamond and “YMCA” or for this concert, “WFSD” originally performed by the Village People. The final act also featured special guest Kevin Coster on the tambourine. The evening was emceed by assistant director of special education, Michele Manion.
Participants included Kaitlin Albus, Julia Bellante, Diana Brown, Amanda Burrage, Mike Cicerelli, Jon Dignam, Barbara D’Orio, Gabriella Forgit, Ralph Guasp, Rich Harris, Terry Heins, Juliana Hyatt, Kimberly J. Hyland, Sharon Kitzis, Jessica Marks, Adam Mazzaferro, Chris Miranda, George Ober, Leanna Ozman, Donia Rivera, Garrett Rode, Barbara Sapanaro, Christine Saraceno, Amy Sckipp, Michelle Seifert, Mick Singh, Lauren Svoboda, Debbie Tomko, Jon Trask, Donna Visone-O’Brien and Lynn Zummo.

Copyright © 1996-2022 LongIsland.com & Long Island Media, Inc. All rights reserved.