Senator John E. Brooks Seeks Nominations for 2017 “Women of Distinction” Award

The Senate will hold a ceremony honoring the women selected from each Senate District on May 9th from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. in Albany, NY. Deadline to make a nomination is March 26th, 2017.

Print Email

Photo by: NYS Senate.

Long Island, NY - February 21, 2017 - Senator John E. Brooks (SD-8) today invited local residents from the 8th Senate District to nominate friends, colleagues and neighborhood leaders whose outstanding work on behalf of their communities make them deserving of special recognition as a “Woman of Distinction” by the New York State Senate.

“There are remarkable women on Long Island who devote an incredible amount of time, energy, and passion into strengthening and bettering their communities," said Senator Brooks. "The annual ‘Women of Distinction' award provides the opportunity to formally recognize the contributions these women make and thank them for all that they do."
Previous recipients of the award  have included educators, business leaders, volunteers, advocates, innovators, everyday heroes and those who have persevered through difficult times. 
The Senate will hold a ceremony honoring the women selected from each Senate District on May 9th from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. in Albany, NY.  A photograph and biography description will be showcased as a part of a special exhibit proclaiming the contributions of these exemplary New York women. 
The Women of Distinction program was created as part of the Senate’s celebration of Women’s History Month. In addition to recognizing present-day women, each March, the Senate hosts a display that honors other distinguished women from New York’s past, from leaders of the 19th Century suffragist movement to pioneers in education, science, and the arts.
The exhibit will be on display in Albany, March 13-31, at the Legislative Office Building.
If you would like to nominate a woman who lives in the 8th Senate District, please go here
The 8th Senate District includes: BaldwinBaldwin Harbor, Bellmore, North Bellmore, Farmingdale, Freeport, East Massapequa, Massapequa Park, Merrick, Roosevelt, Seaford, South Hempstead, Wantagh, Amityville, Copiague, Lindenhurst, Babylon, Wynandanch, and Wheatley Heights.
Nominations must include a brief biography detailing the reason your nominee should be selected as this year’s Woman of Distinction. Nominations must include the town or city of residence and phone number of the nominee. Those making nominations should also include their own name and contact information. The deadline to make a nomination is March 26th, 2017.