Staying Home For College?- Plenty Of Choices On Long Island

Written by Long Island  |  28. July 2011

Although the summer is full of relaxing days by the pool, the beach or even traveling, for many high school students entering 12th grade, it can also be a time of stress. Applying to college is one of the most exciting and nerve-wracking things to do at this time. Although many students wish to get as far away as possible, others may choose to stay closer to home. And there is nothing wrong with that. Luckily, Long Island offers many colleges with programs that can fit every incoming students needs. There are 21 individual schools on Long Island. Some of these schools have satellite campus which means there is more than one location besides the main campus. From Nassau to Suffolk County, Long Island offers schools that will give you a well-rounded college education (without having to go that far!) Listed below are the schools located on Long Island. o Adelphi University (Garden City) o Briarcliffe College Queens at Long Island City Nassau at Bethpage Suffolk at Patchogue o Dowling College Oakdale Shirley Melville o DeVry College of New York Queens at Long Island City o Five Towns College o Hofstra University o Gibbs College, Melville o Long Island University, C.W Post Campus * Brookville Brentwood Riverhead o Molloy College o New York College of Health Professions o Nassau Community College o Polytechnic Institute of New York Long Island Graduate Center in Melville o Stony Brook University o SUNY Farmingdale State College o SUNY College at Old Westbury o Suffolk Community College o St. Josephs College o Touro Law Center o US Merchant Marine Academy o Watson School of Biological Sciences at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory o Webb Institute of Naval Architecture The private colleges on Long Island are Adelphi, Dowling College, Five Towns College (private for profit), Hofstra, Gibbs College (private for profit), Long Island University, Molloy College, NYIT, St. Joseph’s College, Touro Law Center and Watson School of Biological Sciences. Stony Brook is a public college. Nassau, Suffolk, Farmingdale and Old Westbury are all part of the SUNY system (State University of New York).

Copyright © 1996-2020 LongIsland.com & Long Island Media, Inc. All rights reserved.